Thursday, 14 June 2012

Rob Cook & Hapkido – LEP033

Rob Cook & Hapkido
A three-tracker from the secretive Lepento… can see why they'd want to keep this one a bit on the downlow though, cos what we have here are three cheeky reworks of three very well-known vocals. Well, two, anyway…

Forget Me is a surprisingly not-too-cheesy disco-houser with hip-house trimmings… 'surprisingly' given that it's a makeover of Patrice Rushen's Forget Me Nots, which if asked I'd have said shouldn't work, but it kinda doesNext up, What You Need pulls off a similar trick with Cheryl Lynn's To Be Real (well, a similar disco-house trick, but without the rap element this time). And then finally there's Treat You Right, which reworks the vocal from… er… oh I dunno, some R&B thing.

A more uptempo affair, this latter reminds me a little bit of all the R&B boots that came to dominate the Brummie bassline scene back in the mid-00s… as such I've got mixed feelings about it, it kinda makes me smile but it IS a bit cheesy, to be fair.

The other two, though, should serve you well as party-starters on any floor that doesn't take itself too seriously.

Out: This week

About: You can find Lepento on Soundcloud.

No comments:

Post a comment